Turner Field Preview April.18/2012

Follow me- @chuckbooth3024 on twitter

Wednesday Apr.18/2012

Game #18 Day #12 @ 12:05 PM Braves vs Mets

Probable Pitchers:

ATL-Jurrjens 0-1

NYM-Dickey 2-0

Douglas ‘Chuck’ Booth (Baseball Writer)- I am right back to a matinée here.  Turner Field will be easy enough to drive to with my National Car Rental car.  I have Executive Elite Selection so I will pick the top car on the lot.  Parking should cost about $12 on Hank Aaron Drive.  I will buy the cheapest ticket available and pace for the game.

The first time I see the ‘Tomahawk Chop’, I will shake my head at the tradition.  Lunch will probably  be something healthy at McDonalds on the way in.  If I was staying in Atlanta it would have been at the Best Western Plus near the airport in Hapeville.  I have driven through the city a few times and flown through Atlanta countless times.

Atlanta is the main hub for Air Tran Airways who I have flown with the most.  If I have a chance to grab some Popeye’s chicken in the Gate terminal I will.  I booked two separate flights to St. Louis because one was free and the other flight was only $62.  The first flight leaves Atlanta at 4:30 PM and arrives in St. Louis at 5:35 PM.  The second flight leaves at 5:30 PM and arrives in St. Louis at 6:30 PM.  This is the first time I have ever bought two plane tickets to a doubleheader attempt.

I would love an average NL game of 160 minutes.  If this happens, I will be at the airport by 3:15.  Atlanta has one of the biggest airports in the world for gate space.  I am going to have my tickets for both flights in hand.  I am glad that weather should cooperate on this day.  This is a rare doubleheader attempt with another team for Atlanta.  The hour difference you gain flying to St. Louis allows this to be a possible scenario.

Follow me- @chuckbooth3024 on twitter

About chuckbooth3023

I played competitive baseball until 18 years old and had offers to play NCAA Division 1 University Baseball at Liberty University. Post-concussion symptoms from previous football and baseball head injuries forced me to retire by age 19. After two nearly made World Record Attempts in 2008, I set a New World Record by visiting all 30 MLB Parks (from 1st to last pitch) in only 24 Calendar Days in the summer 0f 2009. In April of 2012, I established yet another new GWR by visiting all 30 Parks in only 23 Calendar Days! You can see the full schedule at the page of the www.mlbreports.com/gwr-tracker . In 2015, I watched 224 MLB Games, spanning all 30 MLB Parks in 183 Days. Read about that World Record Journey at http://mlbreports.com/183in2015/229sked2015/
This entry was posted in 30 Baseball Park Previews, The Streak and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Turner Field Preview April.18/2012

  1. Pingback: Table of Contents-GWR 30 in 20 Attempt/30-23 Record | The Fastest Thirty Ballgames

Leave a Reply

