Busch Stadium Preview April.18/2012

Follow me- @chuckbooth3024 on twitter

Thursday April.18/2012

Game #19 Day # 12 @7:15 PM Cardinals vs Reds

Probable Pitchers:

STL-Garcia 1-0

CIN-TBD- Latos 0-1

Douglas “Chuck” Booth (Baseball Writer)- I have about four different modes of transport for this game based on the time I arrive at STL-Lambert International.  Option#1, If I arrive early enough with the 1st flight I will take the Hilton Hotel shuttle bus for $16.

Option #2 is to rent a car from Nati0nal Car Rental, however this takes serious time with the shuttle transportation being a fair distance away from the airport.  Option #3 is to take public transit into the game.  This should be a 45 minute proposition.  Option #4 is to take a cab right out of the cabstand.  I will probably go with option #1 or #4.  I will probably take public transit back to the airport after the game.

My game ticket is for the 4oo section.  While that sounds bad, it is actually a great section.  It is in the right field bleacher on the second deck.  I really have great memories of Busch Stadium, so far it has been the only park I have set foot on the dirt.  In 2008, I was interviewed on the field by Fox Sports Mid-West with my dad.  It was seen by a couple of million people, so it was a nice day.

The St. Louis fans are the classiest in the Major Leagues.  What I don’t want, even though I would be okay for flying and stuff, is a repeat performance from my last streak in 2009 where it lasted 15 innings and ended at 12:15 AM the next day.  The last bus leaves at 12:57 for the airport.  it will be a $45 cab ride if I do miss this.

I am thinking I will still be full from Popeye’s Chicken and McDonald’s that day.  The next day I am flying to Seattle and join up with Ken Lee.  This game is important to make, however the Cardinals do play a series after the streak is over and I am slated to be in Chicago when the streak ends, so I could make this game up April.27-29.  Let’s hope for the game to be done on the 18th. 

Follow me- @chuckbooth3024 on twitter

About chuckbooth3023

I played competitive baseball until 18 years old and had offers to play NCAA Division 1 University Baseball at Liberty University. Post-concussion symptoms from previous football and baseball head injuries forced me to retire by age 19. After two nearly made World Record Attempts in 2008, I set a New World Record by visiting all 30 MLB Parks (from 1st to last pitch) in only 24 Calendar Days in the summer 0f 2009. In April of 2012, I established yet another new GWR by visiting all 30 Parks in only 23 Calendar Days! You can see the full schedule at the page of the www.mlbreports.com/gwr-tracker . In 2015, I watched 224 MLB Games, spanning all 30 MLB Parks in 183 Days. Read about that World Record Journey at http://mlbreports.com/183in2015/229sked2015/
This entry was posted in 30 Baseball Park Previews, The Streak and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

