The New Marlins Ball Park Preview April.17/2012

Follow me- @chuckbooth3024 on twitter

Tuesday April.17/2012

Game #17 Day #11  @ 7:05 PM Marlins vs Cubs

Probable Pitchers:

MIA-Josh Johnson

CHC-Ryan Dempster

Douglas “Chuck” Booth (Baseball Writer)- It is time to re-certify my current 30 ballparks once again.  Out of all of the games I am going to, this one is very high on my list.  Anytime I see a new ballpark from now on will be rare.  Unless the Oakland A’s move to Freemont, California soon, this could be it for years.  I am so happy that I don’t have to worry about either of the Florida teams being rained out.  These 2 teams, along with Seattle, Toronto and Phoenix represent far away stadiums where at least you don’t have to factor weather delays.  Milwaukee and Houston round out the retractable roof parks.  At least with the parks, there are neighbors nearby.

I will be flying in early despite having a lot of time once I arrive in Miami.  Too many things can happen in a short amount of time at the airports.  I always promised to myself that I would take the first available flight in the AM of the next day after the previous night in another city.  I will arrive in Fort Lauderdale about 10 AM.  I plan on catching up on some writing before I check into the Best Western Hotel.  I have been told that I may be interviewed on the field by the Miami Herald.  Recently, a writer from that paper named Manny Navarro interviewed me as a ballpark expert for his article.  You can read that here

I am going to eat healthy on this trip.  While I may scout out all of the ballpark food a the new park, I will probably end up eating chili at Wendy’s for lunch.  I am renting with National Car Rental, just like every city I will be in.  For this reason alone, i am happy that I am renting from FLL Airport as it is much more convenient to find the car return center(right across the street) as oppose to Miami Int’l Airport where you have to take a shuttle into a rural neighborhood and is impossible to find late at night.  I will be sure to arrive at the ballpark early as there are only a reported 5700 Parking spots in the downtown area.  If I had flown into Miami Airport, I would have taken a cab to the game.  Public Transportation in pathetic in Miami.

This is the first day of not having a day game to attend.  I will relax a little bit knowing this.  I am liking how the  new team in Miami looks.  More importantly, the weather will not be 90 degrees like it used to be at Dolphin Stadium.  I have my Southwest Airlines row of flights coming on for virtually the rest of the way.  I can’t thank this airline enough for helping me out for this trip.  It means the world to me that somebody noticed that I have been endorsing their company.  This is a game where i won’t even sweat extra innings.  I am going to post a picture in here when I first possibly can.

Follow me- @chuckbooth3024 on twitter

About chuckbooth3023

I played competitive baseball until 18 years old and had offers to play NCAA Division 1 University Baseball at Liberty University. Post-concussion symptoms from previous football and baseball head injuries forced me to retire by age 19. After two nearly made World Record Attempts in 2008, I set a New World Record by visiting all 30 MLB Parks (from 1st to last pitch) in only 24 Calendar Days in the summer 0f 2009. In April of 2012, I established yet another new GWR by visiting all 30 Parks in only 23 Calendar Days! You can see the full schedule at the page of the www.mlbreports.com/gwr-tracker . In 2015, I watched 224 MLB Games, spanning all 30 MLB Parks in 183 Days. Read about that World Record Journey at http://mlbreports.com/183in2015/229sked2015/
This entry was posted in 30 Baseball Park Previews, The Streak and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

