An Interview with Progressive Field ‘Expert’ Anthony Salter

Follow me-@chuckbooth3024 on twitter

Follow my streak all the through to the bitter end.  Schedule is this link:

http://mlbreports.com/gwr-tracker/ or at my official website for all updates!

https://fastestthirtyballgames3021.wordpress.com/2012/03/20/30in20/

Wednesday April.11/2012

Anthony Salter on the far left with his grandma

Douglas ‘Chuck’ Booth (Baseball Writer) I first met Anthony and his family on July.24/2008 at PNC Park.   A nice usher at the Pirates game talked to me for a while before telling everyone he knew that I was chasing a world record.  I hung out with the 4 Salter Boys for the rest of the game.  We remained in contact and they were there for me the next year when I broke the World Record in Detroit.  This family has brought me good luck in my tripsAnthony and his family are the featured experts on today’s Progressive Field Article.

DB: “Welcome to the MLB Reports Progressive Field Interview Anthony. Please tell us about yourself and then give us some information on your life as a baseball fan?”

AS: “My name is Anthony Salter. I am 18 years old and I live in Flat Rock, MI, suburb of Detroit. I currently attend Wayne State University in Downtown Detroit. I grew up loving sports, both playing and watching them. I played all sports when I was younger, including baseball. Today, baseball is the one sport that I still play organizationally, as I am a member of a local recreation softball league. Growing up in Detroit, I have always loved the Tigers. They will always be my favorite team. Hopefully they will win the pennant this year with the addition of Prince Fielder.”

DB: “You are from Detroit, so tell us what the Indians will have to do in order
to compete versus the Tigers this year.”

AS: “The Indians have made some minor improvements in the off-season but are still not ready to compete with the Tigers.  Even bounce back years from Grady Sizemore, Travis Hafner, Shin Shoo Choo and Ubaldo Jimenez wouldn’t be enough to catch the Tigers.”

DB: “Everybody loves the movie Major League.  How many times does the park make reference to this movie throughout the game?”

AS: “Major League is a classic baseball movie that pretty much all baseball fans have seen. However, out of all the Indian games I have been to, I have never seen them reference Major League throughout the game. It’s kind of surprising since the film features the Indians, and it was filmed in Cleveland too. Who knows though, maybe I am just too young and they stopped featuring it recently, or I was too young to pay attention. (I’m always focused on the game).”

DB: “Is it hard to navigate to the ballpark from the main highways?”

AS: “Not at all. Coming from Detroit, I come right down interstate 90, and get off at Ontario Street, and the park is right there. The ballpark is located right at the intersection of interstate 90 and 71, making it super convenient to get to from just about anywhere.”

DB: “What advice would you give for somebody experiencing Progressive
Field for the very first time?”

AS: “I would just purchase some cheap upper deck seats to get in. The park is pretty cool, but the view of Downtown Cleveland is great from an upper deck seat. I would also plan on getting there early to explore the park, they have some pretty interesting things going on for the kids down there. There is also a section up in the nosebleeds which sells hot dogs for 1$. That is unreal for a major league ballpark, take advantage.”

DB:  “What is your favorite method of transportation to Progressive Field?

AS: “Car, its and easy drive from Detroit.”

DB: “What is the food like at Progressive Field?  What is your favorite
ballpark food there?”

AS: “I always favor the chicken fingers.  I don’t mind the hotdogs either.  Really I don’t think it rates well versus the other parks.”

The Salters

DB: “What is your favorite all time game that you have been in attendance for at Progressive Field?”

AS: “My favorite game that I have been to at Progressive Field was vs. the Toronto Blue Jays. It was in 2008, Cliff Lee’s last season on the club. I had the honor to see Lee pitch, and he shut out the Jays, and was outstanding. That was the year he recorded a career high 22 wins, and it was just memorable to witness a part of it.”

*** A big thank you goes out to our Progressive Field Expert Anthony Salter for participating in the expert article Series. To read more about the Salters journey with Booth to the baseball parks click here ***

About chuckbooth3023

I played competitive baseball until 18 years old and had offers to play NCAA Division 1 University Baseball at Liberty University. Post-concussion symptoms from previous football and baseball head injuries forced me to retire by age 19. After two nearly made World Record Attempts in 2008, I set a New World Record by visiting all 30 MLB Parks (from 1st to last pitch) in only 24 Calendar Days in the summer 0f 2009. In April of 2012, I established yet another new GWR by visiting all 30 Parks in only 23 Calendar Days! You can see the full schedule at the page of the www.mlbreports.com/gwr-tracker . In 2015, I watched 224 MLB Games, spanning all 30 MLB Parks in 183 Days. Read about that World Record Journey at http://mlbreports.com/183in2015/229sked2015/
This entry was posted in 30 Baseball Park Experts, The Streak and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

