The Ball Park in Arlington Preview April.08/2012

Follow me- @chuckbooth3024 on twitter

Sunday Apr.08/2012

Game #4 Day # 2 @ 7:05 PM Rangers vs. White Sox

Probable Pitchers:

TEX-TBD- Harrison

CWS-TBD- Floyd

Douglas ‘Chuck’ Booth (Baseball Writer)- This is going to be another tough negotiation.  My flight arrives in DFW at 6:30 PM.  I will need to find a cab out of the airport immediately.  It should only be about a 15 minute ride to The Ball Park in Arlington.  What I like is that the entrances are right off of the street.  I can be at the gate just mere seconds after paying the cabbie.

I missed this exact same doubleheader scenario (HOU/TEX) on a Sunday night during the end of my 2008 streak attempt.  For me, this is a chance to right a wrong.  I would like the opportunity to land in Dallas and make it for  that first pitch!  Should I miss the first pitch for this game-I will redo the game on Apr.27.  There are 15 teams I can make up a game on Apr.27.  This was my idea this time around to end on a Thursday.  Texas is a lot of ground to cover, so I hope I can make the game.

 I have $7 Grand stand tickets.  I have a friend of a friend meeting me at the game.  After the game is over, I will catch up on some blogging before I fly to Philadelphia in the morning at 6:00 AM. I will be in day 2 of 11 straight matinee games that also features 7 doubleheader attempts.  If I can get through this schedule with nearly all the games knocked off I will have a chance to beat my record of 30-24.

 As for dining at this park, I am going to buy a hotdog, and make sure I buy some ice cream or a smoothie from the little concession in the center field bleachers area.  At least the heat should not be fierce this night with the game starting late.  The Rangers fans are becoming more prolific for home games now.  Inspired by the claws and antlers movement (be sure to read our Ball Park in Arlington Expert’s explanation of this phenomenon on Apr.08) the crowd has something to ignite them.

This was the last of the original 30 parks that I saw back in 2008.  I have since seen the New Yankee Stadium and Citi Field in 2009, then Target Field in Minnesota in 2010 to re-certify all of the current ballparks.  I will be attending New Marlins Ball Park on Apr.17  to re-certify once again.  I rated this park in my top 15.  The one thing I like the best is how clearly you can view the bullpens from the outfield bleachers.

 

Follow me- @chuckbooth3024 on twitter

About chuckbooth3023

I played competitive baseball until 18 years old and had offers to play NCAA Division 1 University Baseball at Liberty University. Post-concussion symptoms from previous football and baseball head injuries forced me to retire by age 19. After two nearly made World Record Attempts in 2008, I set a New World Record by visiting all 30 MLB Parks (from 1st to last pitch) in only 24 Calendar Days in the summer 0f 2009. In April of 2012, I established yet another new GWR by visiting all 30 Parks in only 23 Calendar Days! You can see the full schedule at the page of the www.mlbreports.com/gwr-tracker . In 2015, I watched 224 MLB Games, spanning all 30 MLB Parks in 183 Days. Read about that World Record Journey at http://mlbreports.com/183in2015/229sked2015/
This entry was posted in 30 Baseball Park Previews, The Streak and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Ball Park in Arlington Preview April.08/2012

  1. Pingback: Table of Contents-GWR 30 in 20 Attempt/30-23 Record | The Fastest Thirty Ballgames

Leave a Reply

