Target Field April.14/2012

Follow me- @chuckbooth3024 on twitter

Saturday April.14/2012

Game #12 Day #8  @ 12:10 PM Twins vs. Rangers

Probable Pitchers:

MIN-TBD

TEX-TBD

Douglas ‘Chuck’ Booth (Baseball Writer)- I am not going to lie to you here, there are facets of this journey that are impossible to explain for fatigue.  This day will test my inner resolve.  I am flying into MSP Airport at 5:00 AM.  I am waiting an hour for my car rental so I can take advantage of the 24 hour clock.  The previous night I will have flown in from SFO on US Airways.  Realistically I had to fly overnight in order to arrive in Minnesota for a noon local time game.

This travel day was hard to book.  The next morning I am flying into Toronto, so plane-fares are ridiculous even though it is only a 90 minute flight.  I was going to use my step-mom’s Air Canada flight-passes because she is a retired executive, however the best rate I could fly in on was $375.  I am using my free National Car Rental days for a one-way option by picking the car up in Minnesota and dropping it off in Chicago’s  O’Hare Airport.  I am sure to save about $160 in the process as flights from ORD are economically viable.  In essence, it pays to do some driving for the trip. I will explain more of this travel portion on the ‘Rogers Center’ Preview.

The game starts at 12 noon.  I found an hourly parking spot right near the ballpark last time.  I will use the same lot again.  At most, because this game falls on the weekend, I will pay $12.  I am going to find a nice Starbucks for breakfast and use their free WI-FI service on this day.  My plan is to sleep on my flight overnight.  After the game I bid on a hotel in Minneapolis for a 5 hour stay.  This will be a great chance to have a quick sleep and a shower before I make the 7 hour drive to Chicago.  I am always happy that I have driven these highways before to at least be familiar.

I will be dining on Ribs and one of the best singular foods in the Majors with the ‘Porkchops’ on a stick.  I love those and may take another one for the road.  I was really impressed with Target Field on my first and only visit.  I am looking to take more pictures to add to my collection.  It is okay with me that Guinness Book of World Records likes having a few pictures. I never minded the Metrodome because of its likeness to my old stadium in BC called BC Place Stadium.  Now Target is new and BC Place had 562 million dollars worth of renovations and could be converted for a baseball team in Vancouver B.C Canada which is Justin Morneau‘s back yard from where he was born.

I always like to see the mascot T.C.  I think he is one of the better mascots in the game.  I think only the Philly Phanatic is as cool.  T.C hits batting practice, dances to all of the tunes and routinely jumps in and out of the stands.  He also likes to ride the ATV.  On a side note here, I am really looking forward to this game.  It will be my second Rangers game and I am really hoping that Yu Darvish will toe the hill for one of the games.  It may be for the 2nd time as this will be the 2nd game in 5 days for the Rangers.  Again, I hope there is no extra innings.  I am only going to be okay with about 6 games going into extra innings the whole trip. 

Follow me on Twitter- @chuckbooth3024

About chuckbooth3023

I played competitive baseball until 18 years old and had offers to play NCAA Division 1 University Baseball at Liberty University. Post-concussion symptoms from previous football and baseball head injuries forced me to retire by age 19. After two nearly made World Record Attempts in 2008, I set a New World Record by visiting all 30 MLB Parks (from 1st to last pitch) in only 24 Calendar Days in the summer 0f 2009. In April of 2012, I established yet another new GWR by visiting all 30 Parks in only 23 Calendar Days! You can see the full schedule at the page of the www.mlbreports.com/gwr-tracker . In 2015, I watched 224 MLB Games, spanning all 30 MLB Parks in 183 Days. Read about that World Record Journey at http://mlbreports.com/183in2015/229sked2015/
This entry was posted in 30 Baseball Park Previews, The Streak and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Target Field April.14/2012

  1. Pingback: Table of Contents-GWR 30 in 20 Attempt/30-23 Record | The Fastest Thirty Ballgames

Leave a Reply

