PNC Park Preview Apr.25/2012

Follow me- @chuckbooth3024 on twitter

Wednesday, April.25/2012

Game #27 Day # 19 @12:35 PM Pirates vs. Rockies

Probable Pitchers:

PIT-TBD

COL-TBD

Douglas  “Chuck” Booth (Baseball Writer)- Quite simply put, I need this game really *-!^#! bad.  Every other game up to this point has a secondary date I can use on the depth chart.  Pittsburgh is the exception.  If there is a suspended game it is ballgame over.  Coffee is for closers and I would not have any grinds!  I had a similar situation in 2009 with Fenway Park on Game #29.  There are a few scenarios I can opt for if I am near perfect coming into this day.  The next 3 parks after PNC are Comerica, The Great American Ball Park and Us Cellular Field.  The last two parks play a series right after the streak is over.  The best thing that could happen is that PNC gets the game in for the Pirates no matter what.  I can always move the Tigers game to the 26th and forego the 26th CIN/CWS doubleheader that day.  I will know what circumstances I face coming into the day.

Ken Lee will be waiting for me at 10:30 AM as I arrive into the PIT Airport via Southwest Airlines.  We are heading right to the game.  Ken and I studied our exit strategy for about one hour at his place last week.  We are confident about the execution.  Just a note here, I had this exact doubleheader in 2009 with PIT and DET.  A poorly executed sedan pickup cost me a chance to make my flight to Detroit.  It was the 1st day of the streak and I nailed the next 29 games in  a row for the World Record.  Part of me always wondered what if I would have been picked up at the proper meeting point.  I am happy to have a chance to try this DH again.

My flight out of town is at 5:20 PM.  I need this game to be over by 4:00 PM if possible.  It will take us 40-45 minutes to the airport at the most ideal conditions,  Ken will leave the game in  the 8th inning and wait across the Roberto Clemente Bridge.  I will race out the left field exits and sprint to where he is right after I take a picture of the scoreboard.  Ken and I are talking about going to get a Primanti Brothers Sandwich before the game.  It is a sandwich that features French Fries and a hot dog all loaded into one sandwich.  If we don’t buy a couple of those, we will order a large pizza at the pizzeria in the LF Bleachers.  That is the ticket we will buy each too.   Should cost us around $12 per ticket.  Parking at  a garage should cost about the same for a weekday game.

This is where having Ken Lee around is going to benefit me.  If I miss my flight, Ken will drive me to Cincinnati for the next day.  It is great insurance measure.  I am going to be cheering for good weather and a fast game.  PNC Park is one of my favorite parks.  Most people have it in their top 5.  The park staff have some of the longest-serving employees in all of baseball.  This team just needs a winner on the field and this will be a great baseball city again.  The new park pays great homage to their players of yesteryear.  I will have to do all of my sight-seeing before the game starts A miss on this date would end the streak altogether.  The best I could do is 30 games in 28 days.  I may decide to come back the following week just to complete all 30 Parks in under a  month, however I will not be a happy camper in the Steel City!

With the Salter’s in 2008

Follow me- @chuckbooth3024 on twitter

About chuckbooth3023

I played competitive baseball until 18 years old and had offers to play NCAA Division 1 University Baseball at Liberty University. Post-concussion symptoms from previous football and baseball head injuries forced me to retire by age 19. After two nearly made World Record Attempts in 2008, I set a New World Record by visiting all 30 MLB Parks (from 1st to last pitch) in only 24 Calendar Days in the summer 0f 2009. In April of 2012, I established yet another new GWR by visiting all 30 Parks in only 23 Calendar Days! You can see the full schedule at the page of the www.mlbreports.com/gwr-tracker . In 2015, I watched 224 MLB Games, spanning all 30 MLB Parks in 183 Days. Read about that World Record Journey at http://mlbreports.com/183in2015/229sked2015/
This entry was posted in 30 Baseball Park Previews, The Streak and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

