Miller Park Preview Apr.21/2012

Follow me- @chuckbooth3024 on twitter

Saturday, April.21/2012

Game#23 Day#15 @ 6:05 PM Brewers vs Rockies

Probable Pitchers:

MIL-TBD

COL-TBD

Douglas “Chuck” Booth (Baseball Writer)-The last time I entered into Miller Park I had just wind sprinted a mile from the overflow parking to arrive 3 minutes before first pitch during the 2009 Guinness World Record Streak.  I am hoping I don’t have to do this again.  I have Bob Devries driving me as close to the front door as he can.  This game also falls on a Saturday, so the drive up Highway 94 should be more manageable through traffic than a weekday.  Bob has spent a lot of time in the area so I am comfortable letting him navigate.  Wherever I  may be in the streak, after this game I will have 3 days in a row with singular games.  This will feel like a major reprieve for me.

I may spend the first few innings by myself here.  Bob and Ken are totally with the idea of extra tailgating outside.  That is great.  I love a place that encourages this ritual.  Miller Park actually gives away a free beer fridge to the best party they come across outside.  I don’t drink myself, but understand that beer and baseball goes together like peanut butter and jelly.  For our tickets, we are buying the cheapest ones to get in.  I have no plans on leaving the main concourse deck. So probably  Bernie’s Dugout Section tickets

Whenever all of us get together for the game.  I hope we all get to meet Ben Wahrle.  He is the Miller Park Expert for the trip.  Still a teenager, Ben has visited 24 out of the 30 parks and plans to see the rest of the parks really soon.  Not only that, he has his own baseball website click here .  Ben is the next generation of ballpark chasers and I hope to meet him   It will be an all-star roster of experience for him to learn from.  Bob, Ken and myself have all been to all of the 30 parks multiple times. 

I am also excited to see yet another sausage race.  I also hope to see Bernie Brewer come down his slide for a few Brewers homers.  I would actually live in Milwaukee.  It is such a great city and everything is so cheap.  Hire me Brewers!!

After the game is over, Ken and I will say goodbye to Bob in the parking lot that we paid $12 to park in.  We are staying at the Days Inn Airport in Milwaukee.  I have an early flight to Phoenix in the morning,  I won this hotel night by bidding on Pricelne.com  The price was only $29 for the night.  I have never paid more than this to stay at a hotel for Milwaukee.  For anybody reading, Milwaukee is where you should start a road trip if you are traveling predominantly in  the mid-west.  With a 2nd set of ears for an alarm, I may get a decent night of rest for a change.  This is the home stretch.  If I am perfect right here in the streak, I could see one game a day for the last 7 days and finish with a 30-22 bid.  Only time will tell If I miss this games 1st pitch, I am staying in town for the next days game.

Follow me- @chuckbooth3024 on twitter

About chuckbooth3023

I played competitive baseball until 18 years old and had offers to play NCAA Division 1 University Baseball at Liberty University. Post-concussion symptoms from previous football and baseball head injuries forced me to retire by age 19. After two nearly made World Record Attempts in 2008, I set a New World Record by visiting all 30 MLB Parks (from 1st to last pitch) in only 24 Calendar Days in the summer 0f 2009. In April of 2012, I established yet another new GWR by visiting all 30 Parks in only 23 Calendar Days! You can see the full schedule at the page of the www.mlbreports.com/gwr-tracker . In 2015, I watched 224 MLB Games, spanning all 30 MLB Parks in 183 Days. Read about that World Record Journey at http://mlbreports.com/183in2015/229sked2015/
This entry was posted in 30 Baseball Park Previews, The Streak and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

