Fenway Park Preview April.16/2012

Follow me- @chuckbooth3024 on twitter

Monday Apr.16/2012

Game #15 Day #10 @ 11:05 AM Red Sox vs Rays (Patriots Day)

Probable Pitchers:

BOS-TBD

TB-TBD

Douglas ‘Chuck’ Booth (Baseball Writer)This is going to be funny.  A die-hard Yankees fan in me, hanging out with a die-hard Mets fan in Lori Martini, at Fenway Park on Patriots Day in Boston. While the Boston Marathon is being run, Lori and I will be watching the game from the Grandstand SRO tickets we both have.  Unless I am sitting right in the right field bleachers, I always walk around.  The worst possible seats are the last rows of any of the Grandstand that back into the concourse.  There is just too many people walking around and not enough space.

The plan is to meet Lori at about 8:30 in town.  She will have been there over the weekend with the Boston International Film Festival for her short film ‘Caught’.  I was happy she wanted to come to this game.  We will also be meeting up with Gary Herman of Royalty Tours USA.  Gary attends 350 live events every year and will be doing this game as part of a Fenway Park and Yankee Stadium doubleheader.  That is truly awesome.  It will take a 11:05 AM start in order to watch every pitch.  I had thought about this doubleheader before but I felt that having Toronto and Washington as the dance partner for the Yanks Red Sox was the better option.

With the game starting so early I should be able to catch my 5:00 PM flight out of Boston without a hitch.  In Washington, I will be meeting up with Nationals Park Expert Ben Fallon.  Ben is picking me up from the airport and driving me to the yard.  I need good weather for these games.  If I miss either game it will cost me some serious money.  My makeup game for both is Sunday April.22.

If  had enough time for lunch, I would have eaten at Bertucci Pizza on Commonwealth Ave.  This is the same pizzeria chain I worked for in Canada lasting 9 years.  The oven smoked pizza’s are amongst the very best in the world.   Lori and I will be parking across from Boston University for about $10.   She will be driving me to the game after I arrive in on Greyhound Bus. The walk to the game is going the be about a mile.  After the game,  I am taking the ‘T’ Train  to the airport.  As an added bonus, they run even more trains during Patriots Day.  Lori will be driving back to Brooklyn .  Sadly, this will end the games she comes with me on this journey.

I love Fenway Park.  I ranked this park as my 3rd favorite park to AT&T Park and Yankee Stadium.  The Ted Williams statue is one of the better iconic visuals outside any park.  The only thing that makes the games hard for me is the narrow concourses, lack of space and odd sight obstructed view.  The crowd is on the opposing team more than any other park, especially when the catcher calls for time to talk to the pitcher or throws to first.

I will be cheering in silence for the RedSox, only because if a home team wins I am able to shave about 10-15 minutes off the extra half inning the home team doesn’t bat.

Follow me- @chuckbooth3024 on twitter

For Lori Martini’short film Caught,  click here for the event link on Saturday April.15th.

Follow Lori Martini on twitter- @shortfilmcaught

About chuckbooth3023

I played competitive baseball until 18 years old and had offers to play NCAA Division 1 University Baseball at Liberty University. Post-concussion symptoms from previous football and baseball head injuries forced me to retire by age 19. After two nearly made World Record Attempts in 2008, I set a New World Record by visiting all 30 MLB Parks (from 1st to last pitch) in only 24 Calendar Days in the summer 0f 2009. In April of 2012, I established yet another new GWR by visiting all 30 Parks in only 23 Calendar Days! You can see the full schedule at the page of the www.mlbreports.com/gwr-tracker . In 2015, I watched 224 MLB Games, spanning all 30 MLB Parks in 183 Days. Read about that World Record Journey at http://mlbreports.com/183in2015/229sked2015/
This entry was posted in 30 Baseball Park Previews, The Streak and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fenway Park Preview April.16/2012

  1. Pingback: Table of Contents-GWR 30 in 20 Attempt/30-23 Record | The Fastest Thirty Ballgames

Leave a Reply

