Dodger Stadium Preview Apr.10/2012

Follow me on Twitter- @chuckbooth3024

Tuesday Apr.10/2012

Game #7 Day #4 @ 1:05  Dodgers vs Pirates

Probable Pitchers:

LAD-TBD

PIT-TBD

Douglas ‘Chuck’ Booth (Baseball Writer)- This could be a hectic day or a restful day.  It all depends if I can make that Padres game on time on the 7th of April, my flight out of LAX-leaves for Cleveland at 1:29 AM on the next day of April 11th.  The 1:10 PM start at Dodger Stadium should not be a problem.  I have a direct flight from New York that has me arrive at 9:30 AM into Los Angeles.  I will be using National Car Rental’s Executive Selection program to have my pick of the litter.  I will be looking for a Chevy Impala or Malibu for sure.  These cars represent the best of the fleet offered for Emerald Club Members with Natonal.

I have bought tickets in the Top Deck Tier for $41.  This is not that bad considering it is the season opener for the Dodgers.  Frankly I bought this ticket right after the tickets to Citizens Bank Ball Park, so it felt good to pay half of the price of what it cost for Philadelphia’s season openet.  Guaranteed I will be eating a Dodger Dog on this day.  I might have two if I  have the rest of the day off.  Otherwise I will save some room for a Carls Jr. Burger at Petco Park if I have to trek down Highway 5 for the 100 miles.  I love any seat at Dodger stadium, but I find it more scenic to watch the game from the top deck.

 I will have pre-purchased my parking lot pass for $15.  This will save me about 10-15 minutes in a line-up.  The drive from the airport should take 30-40 minutes based on what the 101-110 highways look like in the afternoon.  I will be early enough to have a decent spot.  Really, there is not a chance to park or drive anywhere else at Dodger Stadium.  I hope for a fast NL style game.  I like the Dodgers under my favorite baseball player of all time (Don Mattingly).  They finished strong in making it to 81-81 in 2011.  The team has runner-up MVP Matt Kemp and NL Cy-Young winner Clayton Kershaw.  If the ownership can be resolved in a timely fashion, the Dodgers fans may not have to wait long for a resurgent team.

Navigating LA’s traffic at 4 PM will be a nightmare.  Should I need to venture to San Diego, once I am on Highway 5, it should not be too bad.  I am confident I can make the 7:05 PM game if necessary.  I plan on catching up on some writing at the airport if I don’t need the game.   I can definitely sleep on the flight to Cleveland in the morning.  Dodger Stadium is one of the biggest surprises to me out of the whole MLB Circuit for it being a quality place to watch a game.  I love how the place rocks out when it is packed.  It is a good thing I am there for the season opener and not game #2.

Follow me on Twitter- @chuckbooth3024

About chuckbooth3023

I played competitive baseball until 18 years old and had offers to play NCAA Division 1 University Baseball at Liberty University. Post-concussion symptoms from previous football and baseball head injuries forced me to retire by age 19. After two nearly made World Record Attempts in 2008, I set a New World Record by visiting all 30 MLB Parks (from 1st to last pitch) in only 24 Calendar Days in the summer 0f 2009. In April of 2012, I established yet another new GWR by visiting all 30 Parks in only 23 Calendar Days! You can see the full schedule at the page of the www.mlbreports.com/gwr-tracker . In 2015, I watched 224 MLB Games, spanning all 30 MLB Parks in 183 Days. Read about that World Record Journey at http://mlbreports.com/183in2015/229sked2015/
This entry was posted in 30 Baseball Park Previews, The Streak and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

