Coors Field Preview April.12/2012

Follow me- @chuckbooth3024 on twitter

Thursday Apr.12/2012

Game #10 Day #6 @1:10 PM Rockies vs Nationals

Probable Pitchers:

COL-TBD

SF-TBD

Douglas ‘Chuck’ Booth (Baseball Writer)- It is always hard scheduling in Coors Field when you plan on visiting all of the ballparks.  Really there is no easy solution.  The next closest city is Oakland, which is a 14 hour drive away.  I picked this date because it was a getaway day and there is a great chance to fly in early from Baltimore because you gain two hours in flight.  I also like to attend a  matinée in Colorado because of the weather factor.  Should there be a delay to inclement weather, there will be ample time to try to get the game in.

My Southwest Airlines flight arrives at 10:00 Am at Denver International Airport (DEN).  Talk about an airport far away from the city, there is virtually no chance to take public transportation here.  What is funny is that I like the airport itself, it is clean, has great Wi-Fi Service Range, plus it has a lot of food choices inside and outside of the terminals.  If you are to fly out of Denver back West to one of the California teams, Seattle or Phoenix, then this airport is an economical way to go.  Denver is one of the cheaper flight cities and the parking rates are amongst the cheapest in the country.

I plan on meeting my ballpark chasers.com friend Meg Minard for this game.  Meg was one of my featured chasers in the ‘The Fastest Thirty Ballgames Novel.’  Meg has been to 21 Major League Ballparks, but an astounding 132 Minor League Games all over the country in addition to a few stadiums in Asia!  Meg has already forewarned me that she will not be attending this game if the weather is lousy.  I totally understand this. After the game,  I will be lodging at a Motel 6 I have stayed at for several years off of 49th Ave.  It is only 5 miles away from the park.  I will park a distance away from Coors Field for $5 or so.  I plan on sitting in ‘Rockpile’ ticket seats for $1.  I plan on just walking around the area for the game.  It gives you a scenic view of the Mountains.

This is the 2nd time I am to see the San Francisco Giants on the road in less than a week.  I see them for the Arizona Diamondbacks home opener on April.06.  I fly out to San Francisco the very next day, thus giving me a great chance to see either Matt Cain and/or Tim Lincecum very early in the season.  But that is tomorrow.  Coors Field surprised me of how nice the park was more than any other park I visited.  I would rate this park in my top 10.

I plan on waiting to eat until after the game.  My motel is right across from the following: Little Caesars Pizza, McDonald’s, Burger King and Wendy’s.  I have a free car from National Car Rental for the day, so it is a quick commute for any of these fine choices.  I will probably pick something healthy after chowing down on that Barbecue platter from Boog’s the previous night.  Another good thing is that barring any delays, I might have a chance for some extended sleep.  The game should end at 4 PM, which would give me 14 hours before my flight to San Fran.  I will need it.

Follow me- @chuckbooth3024 on twitter

About chuckbooth3023

I played competitive baseball until 18 years old and had offers to play NCAA Division 1 University Baseball at Liberty University. Post-concussion symptoms from previous football and baseball head injuries forced me to retire by age 19. After two nearly made World Record Attempts in 2008, I set a New World Record by visiting all 30 MLB Parks (from 1st to last pitch) in only 24 Calendar Days in the summer 0f 2009. In April of 2012, I established yet another new GWR by visiting all 30 Parks in only 23 Calendar Days! You can see the full schedule at the page of the www.mlbreports.com/gwr-tracker . In 2015, I watched 224 MLB Games, spanning all 30 MLB Parks in 183 Days. Read about that World Record Journey at http://mlbreports.com/183in2015/229sked2015/
This entry was posted in 30 Baseball Park Previews, The Streak and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

