Chase Field Preview April.22/2012

Follow me- @chuckbooth3024 on twitter

Sunday, April.22/2012

Game #24 Day # 16 @1:05 PM D’Backs vs Braves

Probable Pitchers:

ARI-TBD

ATL-TBD

Douglas ‘Chuck’ Booth (Baseball Writer)I took a long time debating what game I was going to go to before the streak started.  I could have gone to Texas, San Diego, Arizona or Baltimore.  With Baltimore and Texas both playing one day after the streak’s last day, that left San Diego and Arizona.  With two shots to attempt double-headers with the Padres, if I can’t manage to complete one of them, I have no business doing this streak.  However, The Arizona game on the 6th worked on so many levels.  Not only could it be a backup date on the 22nd for the Kauffman, Miller Park and Wrigley but if there is a postponed Mets game on the 9th, I have the option to retro-activate the streak all the way to April.5th.  It is all about having options in case you have a miss you can’t control. The good news is that I can get to all of these other parks from where I end up in the course of travel on the 22nd.

That is a reason why my Southwest Plane tickets are going to come in handy. Since the airline doesn’t charge extra for changing flights, I have the option to alter my schedule without serious financial penalty.  My flight arrives in Phoenix in time for me to grab my National Car Rental and jet to the nearest Waffle House for another stellar breakfast.  I am also staying at a Best Western on this night.  I like traveling in familiar places for hotels and cities.

I am going to park in a nearby garage for $7-10.  I will be traveling light in these three days.  My suitcase will be with Ken Lee, ready to meet me in Pittsburgh on the 25th of April.  On several occasions throughout these cities, I am throwing out clothes along the way to dwindle down the amount of luggage to end the trip.  Thankfully on my final flight home, I am flying where my bags are all free with Air Canada.

The good news about this contest is that there is sleep to be had after the game.  Provided it ends at a decent rate, I might even rest for 8-10 hours.  Love those matinée games where I can stay in the same city.  There is a method to my madness in scheduling.  My 3 games in a row here are ARI/OAK/TB.  All 3 good weather cities and 2 have domes.  It is important to hit your one-off cities near the end.  Pittsburgh on the 25th is the only park that is an absolute must to not rain out.

I should have a chance to meet our Chase Field Expert Paula Vaughnn for this game.  I met Paula through ballparkchasers.com. She is planning her own trip to see all 30 ballparks in one season.  I know one thing about this game.  I will not like the car transportation center shuttle ride.  It is 4 miles away from the airport while the city’s downtown sector is about the same.  I could have easily chosen light rail transit for this trip if I was staying in a hotel downtown.  I have free rental days at National and free nights at the Best Western Hotel Chain, so how could I refuse?  I will need all of the rest I can.  There is weeks of non sleep there to catch up on.  Best Western also have the best continental breakfasts for the mid-level price range!!

Follow me- @chuckbooth3024 on twitter

About chuckbooth3023

I played competitive baseball until 18 years old and had offers to play NCAA Division 1 University Baseball at Liberty University. Post-concussion symptoms from previous football and baseball head injuries forced me to retire by age 19. After two nearly made World Record Attempts in 2008, I set a New World Record by visiting all 30 MLB Parks (from 1st to last pitch) in only 24 Calendar Days in the summer 0f 2009. In April of 2012, I established yet another new GWR by visiting all 30 Parks in only 23 Calendar Days! You can see the full schedule at the page of the www.mlbreports.com/gwr-tracker . In 2015, I watched 224 MLB Games, spanning all 30 MLB Parks in 183 Days. Read about that World Record Journey at http://mlbreports.com/183in2015/229sked2015/
This entry was posted in 30 Baseball Park Previews, The Streak and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

