US Cellular Field Park Preview Apr.26/2012

Follow me- @chuckbooth3024 on twitter

Thursday, April.26/2012

Game #30 Day #20 @7:10 PM White Sox vs. Redsox

Probable Pitchers:

CWS-TBD

BOS-TBD

Douglas “Chuck” Booth (Baseball Writer)- Whatever happens when I arrive to Chicago, US Cellular Field will be my next game.  Whether that is on this day, or the next day.  Ken Lee and I will need to take refuge in this city, even if it is just for a few hours before heading somewhere else to break the record.  I will have 3 makeup dates of the 27-29 to circle back through the MLB and pick off Parks that I missed during the streak.

I am hoping that the games I need to re-do are only as a result of a doubleheader miss.  If a game is missed entirely because of a cancellation, that is a tough proposition to swallow.  Taking a zero for a day is horrifying.  If anything goes awry in this whole attempt, I can take solace in the fact that I already own the record.  This always takes the sting off.  It would be fitting if I broke my own record because this is where I finished my 2008 record streak.  I submitted a 30-29 bid after chasing 2 separate record attempts for 40 days straight.  I saw 41 games in 40 days.  I guess this makes me a 40/40 guy as well.

Ken Lee and I have looked at this trip from every angle and we are confident we can make the 23 mile trek in 81 minutes.  I know of the Red Line Station’s I can hope off and guarantee me to be at the game at certain parts.  My flight leaves at 5:40 EST from CVG and arrives at ORD at 5:50 CST because of he hour gained.  I also know that the airlines sandbag their plane times to be more effective in giving a time- window to their travelers.  On this exact same flight last time, I arrived at 5:35 PM only to have the Jet Bridge not cooperate with the plane for 15 minutes.  I can’t bank on another Rain Delay that actually goes in my favor either like seen in the picture to the left.  Last time, the game was delayed 30 minutes when I arrived on time. It helped me document more evidence.

Ken and I will be relegated to the 500 level.  The tickets are going to be $33-$40 each.  What is worse, is that we are going to shell out $25 for parking off of 35th ST.  Ken Lee will have the option to going into the game if we miss the 1st pitch.  Man, I would hate listening to the game on the radio.  At least, I will not be stranded at the park-or have to leave right away.  Ken coming out to help me drive alleviates a lot of problems.  I will have not run with a briefcase like last time.

Once inside the park, I am sure I will eat a hotdog as the Cel has good Hot Dogs.  Ken and I are going to have a fun time with the Park for the Expert Interview.  We both have some great tales to write about for games that we have witnessed here.  Will this be the last game preview? I hope so, but If not, I hope I only have to writer 1-3 more at the most.  Otherwise I will be making a face like in this picture!!

Follow me- @chuckbooth3024 on twitter


About chuckbooth3023

I played competitive baseball until 18 years old and had offers to play NCAA Division 1 University Baseball at Liberty University. Post-concussion symptoms from previous football and baseball head injuries forced me to retire by age 19. After two nearly made World Record Attempts in 2008, I set a New World Record by visiting all 30 MLB Parks (from 1st to last pitch) in only 24 Calendar Days in the summer 0f 2009. In April of 2012, I established yet another new GWR by visiting all 30 Parks in only 23 Calendar Days! You can see the full schedule at the page of the www.mlbreports.com/gwr-tracker . In 2015, I watched 224 MLB Games, spanning all 30 MLB Parks in 183 Days. Read about that World Record Journey at http://mlbreports.com/183in2015/229sked2015/
This entry was posted in 30 Baseball Park Previews, The Streak and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to US Cellular Field Park Preview Apr.26/2012

  1. Pingback: Table of Contents-GWR 30 in 20 Attempt/30-23 Record | The Fastest Thirty Ballgames

Leave a Reply

